RSS Feeds :: Listservs :: mml mobile

powered by google

Media Room Blue Arrows

Jump to...

>>League Bios



















Press Release


Matt Bach
Director of Media Relations
Michigan Municipal League
(734) 669-6317; C: (810) 874-1073;


Former Alpena Mayor Awarded Honorary Life Membership

Michigan Municipal League Celebrates Carol Shafto

LANSING, Michigan — The Michigan Municipal League awarded former Alpena Mayor Carol Shafto with its highest individual honor—the Honorary Life Membership Award. The award was given during the League’s annual Capital Conference Awards Gala March 21 in Lansing.

Shafto served Alpena for 24 years, including being elected to multiple terms on the Alpena City Council. She ended service with Alpena as mayor, retiring in 2011, said Fenton Mayor Pro Tem Patricia Lockwood, a previous Honorary Life Membership recipient who presented Shafto with the honor Tuesday.

“Carol was raised with seven siblings in the remote Northern Michigan community of Onaway in extreme poverty. But she had the foresight to know that education was her ticket to a better life. So she enrolled at Alpena Community College and while she initially thought her time in Alpena would be short-term, she has made it her home for nearly 50 years,” Lockwood said.

Shafto served in the U.S. Air Force and became a nationally certified planner (AICP). She is the Planning and Evaluation Director of Northeast Michigan Community Service Agency Inc. (NEMCSA)—an 11-county regional Community Action Agency.

Shafto began her public service career with eight years on the Alpena Planning Commission. She has been very involved with the Michigan Municipal League since the mid-1990s and was appointed to the League Board of Trustees in 2008.  She was elected the board vice president and then became president in 2011. She served on numerous League-related groups, including the League’s Nominating Committee, Legal Defense Fund Board of Directors, Legislative Governance Committee, and the Land Use and Economic Development Committee. She was also a member of the Michigan Association of Mayors and Michigan Women in Municipal Government.

Shafto attributed her desire to get involved with the League to former Rogers City Councilmember and past League President Jim Sinclair.

“Former League President Jim Sinclair was my mentor,” Shafto said. “Jim Sinclair always believed in me. He pushed me to be a better public servant and a better person.”

Also receiving an Honorary Life Membership during Tuesday’s Awards Gala was Paw Paw Village Manager Larry Nielsen.

About the award: The Honorary Life Membership, first awarded in 1932, is the League’s highest individual honor, reserved for the most active and inspiring leaders dedicated to the League and its mission.

For photos of Shafto receiving the award, go to this Michigan Municipal League “Award Recipients” album on flickr: Photos can be downloaded from the League’s flickr page for free. We just ask that the following photo credit be given: Flickr Photo Michigan Municipal League/

For additional information contact the League’s Matt Bach, director of media relations, at (734) 669-6317 (office) and

Michigan Municipal League is dedicated to making Michigan’s communities better by thoughtfully innovating programs, energetically connecting ideas and people, actively serving members with resources and services, and passionately inspiring positive change for Michigan’s greatest centers of potential: its communities. The League advocates on behalf of its member communities in Lansing, Washington, D.C., and the courts; provides educational opportunities for elected and appointed municipal officials; and assists municipal leaders in administering services to their communities through League programs and services. Learn more at




MML Home :: League Services :: Advocacy :: Training/Events :: Resources :: Insurance :: Legal :: Classifieds :: Links :: About MML :: Privacy :: Webmaster
Michigan Municipal League :: 1675 Green Road, Ann Arbor MI, 48105 :: 734.662.3246 l 800.653.2483

MML Home Page mml home Conference