RSS Feeds :: Listservs :: mml mobile

powered by google

Media Room Blue Arrows

Jump to...

>>League Bios



















Press Release


Matt Bach
Director of Media Relations
Michigan Municipal League
(734) 669-6317; C: (810) 874-1073;


Fenton Mayor Pro Tem Patricia Lockwood Named to National Committee

Lockwood Selected for NLC Nominating Group

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Fenton Mayor Pro Tem Patricia Lockwood, former Michigan Municipal League Board President, was recently selected to the 2016 Nominating Committee for the National League of Cities (NLC).

NLC President and Joplin, Missouri Councilmember Melodee Colbert-Kean recently announced Lockwood’s appointment, along with the selection of 14 other nominating committee members and one alternate. Lockwood is also a member of the NLC Board of Directors, Honorary Life Member of the Michigan Municipal League, and chair of the Michigan Municipal League Foundation Board of Directors.

The nominating committee will be responsible for recommending a slate of officers and board members to lead NLC in 2017. These leaders will be elected during the Annual Business Meeting at the City Summit in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania on Saturday, Nov. 19, 2016.

NLC Past President and St. Paul, Minnesota Mayor Christopher Coleman will chair the committee, which includes 12 elected city officials and three state municipal league executive directors.

Elected officials serving on the nominating committee are:

  • Chris Anderson, Councilmember, Chattanooga, Tennessee

  • Milta Feliciano, Councilmember, Bridgeport, Connecticut

  • Patricia Lockwood, Mayor Pro Tem, Fenton, Michigan

  • Jesse Matthews, Councilmember, Bessemer, Alabama

  • Audwin Samuel, Councilmember, Beaumont, Texas

  • Gabe Santos, Councilmember, Longmont, Colorado

  • Mark Stodola, Mayor, Little Rock, Arkansas (Alternate)

  • Jenni Tan, Council President, West Linn, Oregon

  • Priscilla Tyson, Council President Pro Tempore, Columbus, Ohio

  • Randal Wallace, Councilmember, Myrtle Beach, South Carolina

  • Nan Whaley, Mayor, Dayton, Ohio

  • Lavonta Williams, Councilmember, Wichita, Kansas

The state municipal league executive directors serving on the committee are:

  • Alan Kemp, Executive Director, Iowa League of Cities

  • Bennett Sandlin, Executive Director, Texas Municipal League

  • Kimberly Winn, Executive Director, Virginia Municipal League

The committee will hold a public hearing to receive nominations during the 2016 City Summit on Thursday, Nov. 17, 2016.

Michigan Municipal League is dedicated to making Michigan’s communities better by thoughtfully innovating programs, energetically connecting ideas and people, actively serving members with resources and services, and passionately inspiring positive change for Michigan’s greatest centers of potential: its communities. The League advocates on behalf of its member communities in Lansing, Washington, D.C., and the courts; provides educational opportunities for elected and appointed municipal officials; and assists municipal leaders in administering services to their communities through League programs and services. Learn more at

The National League of Cities (NLC) is dedicated to helping city leaders build better communities. Working in partnership with the 49 state municipal leagues, NLC serves as a resource to and an advocate for the more than 19,000 cities, villages and towns it represents.





MML Home :: League Services :: Advocacy :: Training/Events :: Resources :: Insurance :: Legal :: Classifieds :: Links :: About MML :: Privacy :: Webmaster
Michigan Municipal League :: 1675 Green Road, Ann Arbor MI, 48105 :: 734.662.3246 l 800.653.2483

MML Home Page mml home Capital