RSS Feeds :: Listservs :: mml mobile

powered by google

Media Room Blue Arrows

Jump to...

>>League Bios



















Press Release

Matt Bach, Director of Communications
Michigan Municipal League
(734) 669-6317;


Michigan Municipal League Names State Representatives Wayne Schmidt and Rudy Hobbs as Legislators of the Year

MACKINAC ISLAND, Michigan (Oct. 4, 2012)—-The Michigan Municipal League has honored State Representatives Wayne Schmidt (R-Traverse City) and Rudy Hobbs (D-Southfield) as the League’s 2012 Legislators of the Year. The awards were formally presented to Rep. Schmidt and Rep. Hobbs during the League’s Annual Convention on Oct. 4 on Mackinac Island. schmidt

Rep. Schmidt represents the 104th House District and residents of the greater Traverse City area, including Grand Traverse and Kalkaska counties. Rep. Hobbs represents the 35th House District which includes the city of Southfield and Lathrup Village.
“Both of these legislators are outstanding advocates for not only their individual communities, but for the entire state,” said League Executive Director and CEO Dan Gilmartin.

“Rep. Schmidt has been a leader on economic development issues on behalf of communities,” Gilmartin said.

“As a member of the Republican Minority, Rep. Schmidt played a key role in working with the Democrats and the Senate to get important Transit-Oriented Development legislation passed,” Gilmartin said. “As Chair of the House Commerce Committee, he again moved important legislation creating the Community Revitalization Program, the Business Development Program and other key initiatives for communities.”

While from Traverse City, Schmidt has worked closely with Detroit and Grand Rapids and many communities throughout the state to push for revitalization of communities, attraction of talent, and jobs, Gilmartin said.

“Rep. Schmidt works closely with League staff to ensure that legislation will help with placemaking, protect important local control, and make Michigan great by helping its communities. Rep. Schmidt has clearly left his mark on the State of Michigan and has been a leader in advancing the needs of Michigan by helping its communities. The League is proud to make Rep. Wayne Schmidt its 2012 Legislator of the Year and looks forward to working with him in his final two years as a member of the Michigan House of Representatives.”

Photos of all the winners can be found in this set on flickr:

                                                       # # # # #

For more information contact Matt Bach, League Director of Communications, at 734-669-6317 or

About the League: The Michigan Municipal League advocates on behalf of its member communities in Lansing, Washington D.C., and the courts; provides educational opportunities for elected and appointed municipal officials; and assists municipal leaders in administering services to their communities through League programs and services.



MML Home :: League Services :: Advocacy :: Training/Events :: Resources :: Insurance :: Legal :: Classifieds :: Links :: About MML :: Privacy :: Webmaster
Michigan Municipal League :: 1675 Green Road, Ann Arbor MI, 48105 :: 734.662.3246 l 800.653.2483

MML Home Page mml home Conference