RSS Feeds :: Listservs :: mml mobile

powered by google

Media Room Blue Arrows

Jump to...

>>League Bios



















Press Release

For Immediate Release:
September 24, 2010

Ph: 734-669-6317

Michigan Municipal League Announces 2011 Board of Trustees

Alpena Mayor Carol Shafto named 2011 Board President

karen and carol

DEARBORN, Mich (Sept. 27, 2010) — The Michigan Municipal League (MML) announced today the approval of officers for its 2011 Board of Trustees during its Annual Convention in Dearborn.

Jeff Jenks, Huntington Woods mayor pro tem and 2010 MML president, announced the new volunteer officers: 2011 president is Alpena Mayor Carol Shafto, and the 2011 vice president is Hamtramck Mayor Karen Majewski.  Each will serve a one-year term effective September 24, 2010. As vice president, Majewski is in line to become the MML president next year.

Six new trustees complete the 19-member Board: Charles Pugh, Detroit city council president; Jacqui Noonan, Utica mayor; Suzanne Pixley, Eastpointe mayor; William Filber, Spring Lake village president; Amos O’Neal, Saginaw mayor pro tem; and Jeffery Lawson, Mackinaw City village manager. Each will serve a three-year term effective September 24, 2010.

“I am honored to assume leadership of the Michigan Municipal League as it begins its 113th year of serving the more than 500 cities and villages that make up this great state,” Shafto said. “Hard times call for strong leadership and local elected officials across Michigan can work cooperatively together to get us through to better times and brighter days. A famous quote says, ‘A crisis is a terrible thing to waste.’ Now is the time to make a difference. We can work together to turn Michigan around–one city, one village, one community at a time.”

Majewski said, “I’m excited to represent the Hamtramck area on the League Board and for this opportunity to help lead the League and our Michigan communities.”

Responsible for developing and guiding the organization’s public policy initiatives and legislative agenda, the six newly elected trustees join Executive Director & CEO Dan Gilmartin and the eleven volunteers who remain on the 2011 Board, including Ray Anderson, Norway city manager; Virg Bernero, Lansing mayor; Patricia Bureau, Ishpeming mayor pro tem; Pat Capek, Cedar Springs councilmember; John Davidson, Bay City commissioner; Dale Kerbyson, Lapeer city manager; David Lossing, Linden mayor; Lynn Markland, Fenton city manager; Gary McDowell, Adrian mayor; Larry Nielsen, Paw Paw village manager and; Susan M. Rowe, Wayne city councilmember.

The League would like to thank the following people for their years of service on the Board: Jeff Jenks, 2010 Board president and Huntington Woods mayor pro tem; Richard Clanton, Kentwood mayor pro tem; Kenneth Cockrel Jr., Detroit councilmember; Penny Hill, Kalkaska village manager; Deanna Koski, Sterling Heights councilmember; and David Post, Hillman village manager.

More information:
- For additional photos, go here.

The Michigan Municipal League advocates on behalf of its member communities in Lansing, Washington DC and the courts; provides educational opportunities for elected and appointed municipal officials and; assists municipal leaders in administering services to their communities through League programs and services. For more information, visit






MML Home :: League Services :: Advocacy :: Training/Events :: Resources :: Insurance :: Legal :: Classifieds :: Links :: About MML :: Privacy :: Webmaster
Michigan Municipal League :: 1675 Green Road, Ann Arbor MI, 48105 :: 734.662.3246 l 800.653.2483

MML Home Page mml home Capital