RSS Feeds :: Listservs :: mml mobile

powered by google

Creating 21st Century Communities – September 21-24, 2010 – Hyatt Regency, Dearborn

League Home > Convention Main >


Community Excellence Award

The annual statewide competition recognizes outstanding community services, projects and programs. It’s the highest award bestowed on a community by the Michigan Municipal League.

Seven finalists – one from each of the League’s seven regions – were chosen as inspiring examples of what Michigan communitiescan accomplish through dynamic leadership, creative vision and collaborative effort. Grand Haven was selected by popular vote in the Race for the Cup competition during the League’s 112th Annual Convention Sept. 21-24 in Dearborn (read more from our Convention). More>

Press Release

Honorary Life Membership Award

There were many awards, honors and accolades given during the 2010 Michigan Municipal League Convention in Dearborn, Sept. 21-24, and the top honors went to Grand Blanc Mayor Michael Matheny and the City of Grand Haven. More>

Press Release

Michael A. Guido Leadership and Public Service Award

Sault Sainte Marie Mayor Anthony "Tony" Bosbous was honored by his fellow municipal leaders by earning the Michigan Municipal League's Michael A. Guido Leadership and Public Service Award for 2010. More>

Jim Sinclair Exceptional Service Award

The Michigan Municipal League (MML) announced at the 2010 Annual Convention Hastings Mayor Robert L. May as the recipient of the 2010 Jim Sinclair Exceptional Service Award. More>

Legislators of the Year

Award Honors Holland, Lincoln Park and Taylor Lawmakers. More>

Special Awards of Merit

Special Awards of Merit were given to Kenneth V. Cockrel Jr., Detroit councilmember; Gary Heidel, interim executive director for the Michigan State Housing Development Authority (MSHDA); and Clara Shepherd; Muskegon city commissioner.

Elected Officials Academy Graduates

Level 1 graduates were Joseph Greene, Caro councilmember; Kathleen Ling, Mt. Pleasant commissioner; Rusty Showalter, West Branch councilmember; Eileen Steadman, Berkley councilmember; Nathan Triplett, East Lansing councilmember; and Joel VanSlambrouck, Portland councilmember. Level 2 graduates were Joshua Meringa, Grandville councilmember; and Nathan Triplett, East Lansing councilmember. Level 3 graduates were Susan Baldwin, Battle Creek mayor; William Lasher, Ovid Village president; David Lossing, Linden mayor; and Gary McDowell, Adrian mayor.


MML Home :: Privacy :: Webmaster
Michigan Municipal League :: 1675 Green Road, Ann Arbor MI, 48105 :: 734.662.3246 l 800.653.2483

MML Home Page