Featured on mml.org
Michigan is the 24th state in the nation to ban texting while driving. Effective July 1, 2010, typing, sending, and reading text messages while driving is banned. The violation is a civil infraction that results in a $100 fine for the first offense and a $200 fine for subsequent offenses.
Since the violation is a civil infraction, law enforcement officers may not obtain a search warrant or investigative subpoena solely for a violation. Officers may obtain consent to examine a 2-way communication device—however, without consent, officers MAY NOT lawfully seize an individual's device to examine the contents.
Devices banned include wireless 2-way communication devices, including cell phones in a person's hand or lap while operating a motor vehicle, THAT IS MOVING, on a highway or street. GPS or navigation systems affixed to motor vehicles are exempt.
There are exceptions for the public for the purposes of reporting crashes, crimes, and other emergencies. Also, while in the course of their official duties, law enforcement, fire fighters (paid and volunteer), and operators of emergency vehicles are exempt.
The link to the new law is here:
In addition to Michigan, texting bans have been enacted in: